The Latest Connecticut Driving Laws Residents Need to Know
The driving rules in Connecticut depend on more than just common sense — you need to know the law. Whether you live or are simply visiting Connecticut, you should have a strong grasp on the rules. Many of them differ from other states and require a lot more understanding.
You can’t take any chances as a driver. How well do you know the latest Connecticut driving laws? Get to know the latest laws before you hit the road.
Obtaining a Connecticut Learner’s Permit
If you want to earn your driver’s license in Connecticut, you’ll need a learner’s permit first. All 16- and 17-year-olds have to obtain one in order to take an official driver’s test. The same rules apply for any first-time driver’s license applicant.
Those under 18 must have permission from their parent or legal guardian in order to apply. If their parent or guardian is not present at the DMV office, then the applicant needs a notarized consent form. Only then can they submit their completed application documents and identification materials.
CT driving laws state that applicants must pay a $40 testing fee. You must also take and pass the vision test as well as a 25-question knowledge test. The learner’s permit fee is $19 and must be paid separately from the testing fee.
Connecticut Learner’s Permit Restrictions
New drivers with only a learner’s permit are not allowed to have any passengers in the car other than their parents or legal guardians. All passengers must wear their seatbelts. And drivers are not allowed to use a cell phone or any other electronic device while operating the vehicle.
The only other passengers a permit holder can drive with are licensed driving instructors. The person must be someone giving the driver instructions and have been licensed for four consecutive years. The instructor must also be at least 20 years old.
A new permit holder must complete at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel training prior to applying for a driver’s license. They will also need to complete an eight-hour safe driving course. The applicant’s parents will need to complete a two-hour course with the permit holder as well.
Obtaining a Driver License
Once you earn a learner’s permit, there are three training courses you must complete. In order to complete the driver training, the requirements for 16- and 17-year-olds differ from adults. Newer Connecticut driving laws are much more strict in hopes of curbing statistics.
Applicants must attend a commercial driving school with 30 hours. They will also need to do the Safe Driving Practices course and 40 hours of the practice training. Their parents or guardians will also need to do two hours of parent training.
If an applicant participates in-home training, they will need to complete 22 hours of classroom type training. They will also need an eight-hour Safe Driving Practices course at a secondary or commercial driving school. They will still need two-hour parent training and 40 hours of practice driving.
Once an applicant completes their required driving training, they must hold a learner’s permit for at least 120 days. The holder can then make an appointment to take their road test. On the day of the road test, the hopeful driver must have the following:
- Learner’s permit
- Completed Application for Driver License signed by a qualified trainer proving their completion of the driver education and practice requirements
- The CS-1 Driver Education Certificate verifying they have completed their driver training
- A registered and insured vehicle to use for the test
- The license fee
Once the applicant passes their road test, they are eligible for a driver’s license. However, the following CT license restrictions apply:
- The holder must comply with the passenger restrictions for the first six months after obtaining the license
- The license holder may drive member of their immediate family for the following six months
- Prior to turning 18, the license holder cannot drive between 11 AM and 5 AM unless they are going to work, school, religious activities or for medical reasons
Minor Drivers Penalties for Violating the Law
Connecticut is very strict on their “Click It Or Ticket” rules and regulations. The driving rules in CT require 16- and 17-year-old drivers and their passengers to wear a seat belt. If either the driver or passenger is caught without one, both could be cited for the violation and fined $75.
Driver under 18-years-old who commit certain moving violations can have their license seized. Law enforcement can also suspend their license for 48 hours. They are authorized to remove the vehicle from the scene and their license will be held for 2 days.
If the teen wants to get their license back after the 48-hour period, they’ll need their parent or legal guardian. They all must head to the police department to sign a written statement stating the license has been returned. Too many of these offenses will require the driver to participate in a driver retraining program.
Anyone under the age 25 who commits violates two or more CT license restrictions must complete the DMV certified retraining program. Once they complete the operator retraining program, they cannot become a repeat offender within 36 months. If violated, they face having their license suspended.
In the event that this has happened to you or a young driver you know, contact Jonathan Perkins, New Haven car accident lawyer to help you out.
Bottom Line on Connecticut Driving Laws
It’s important to know and understand Connecticut Driving Laws before hitting the road. You need to make sure that you remain within the law while driving throughout the state.
If you want more information or have any questions, check out the Connecticut Driver’s Manual.
Don’t forget to bookmark our site for all things law!