The Consequences Of Getting Caught Drunk Driving
Drunk driving is a serious problem in the United States, and Arizona is no exception. Every year, thousands of people are injured or killed in drunk driving accidents. The consequences of getting caught drunk driving can be severe, and can include jail time, fines, and loss of your driver’s license.
This article will take a closer look at some of the consequences of getting caught drunk driving and the penalties you could face in Arizona. Whether you’re a first-time offender or a repeat offender, it is important to be aware of the possible consequences and take steps to help prevent yourself from getting caught in the first place.
Table of Contents
Depending on the circumstances of your case, you could face jail time if convicted of drunk driving in Arizona. A first-time offender can face up to 10 days in jail and a second offense results in 30 days imprisonment. Additionally, you may also have to serve time as part of probation or community service requirements, as well as partake in Arizona Online DUI Classes. There are also enhanced penalties for aggravating factors, such as a high BAC level or having an open container in the vehicle.
A DUI conviction will remain on your criminal record for life, which can have a major impact on your future employment prospects and other opportunities.
Fines and Fees
In addition to imprisonment, you may also face hefty fines and fees if convicted of a DUI in Arizona. Depending on the severity of your case and your prior record, you could be charged with court costs, probation fees, SR-22 insurance premiums, jail booking fees, and much more. These all add up quickly and can be difficult to pay off, so it is important to understand the total cost of a DUI conviction before you decide to plead guilty.
On the other hand, if you are found not guilty or the charges are dismissed, then most of these costs may be refundable.
A DUI conviction in Arizona will almost certainly result in a suspension or revocation of your driver’s license. The duration of your suspension depends on the circumstances of your case and any prior convictions you have. For instance, if you have a prior DUI within the last seven years, then your license may be suspended for up to two years. Similarly, an extreme DUI may result in a one-year suspension, while a regular DUI can result in a 90-day suspension.
Additionally, you must pay a reinstatement fee to have your license reinstated.
Ignition Interlock Device
In some cases, Arizona courts may require that you install an ignition interlock device (IID) on all vehicles registered in your name. This device prevents the vehicle from starting until you blow into it and provide a breath sample, and it will also take retests while you are driving. This helps to ensure that you are not driving under the influence of alcohol and can help reduce your risk of future DUI convictions.
It is also important to note that you must pay for the installation and maintenance of the IID.
Therefore, it is important to be aware of these penalties and take steps to prevent yourself from finding yourself in this situation. If you do find yourself facing DUI charges, it is important to seek legal counsel right away so that you can get started on building a strong defense.