Texas Traffic Laws: Everything You Need to Know
Table of Contents
Did you know that there were 227,754,100 licensed drivers in the US in 2019?
Driving can provide you with freedom and allow you to travel around easier. However, what you might not know is that every state has different traffic laws.
If you plan to drive in Texas soon, keep reading to find out about the Texas traffic laws.
Texas Rules of the Road
Some Texas road laws are similar to other states, while others are unique to the state. There are a number of Texas driving laws that you need to familiarize yourself with before you get in a car and start driving.
Seatbelts are an integral part of road safety, as such the state of Texas says that seatbelts must be worn by the driver and passengers. Unless the vehicle you’re driving doesn’t have them as part of the original design.
Another rule for safety measures is that children smaller than 4 feet 9 inches, and who are under 8 years old, must be secured in a child seat.
You should not use your cell phone while driving. Texas state banned drivers using any wireless communications device for messaging while driving a vehicle. You should not text, read a text or email, write an email, etc, while driving.
Pedestrians have the right of way at uncontrolled intersections and when a ‘WALK’ signal is active. If the light changes at the intersection, the pedestrian still has the right of way. Always look out for pedestrians when you’re driving.
Drivers should always give bicyclists between three and five feet of space when passing. You should also not drive or park in a bicycle lane.
If you’re driving in the state of Texas, you must display a valid front and rear license plate.
While driving, you may make a right on red if you have stopped the vehicle first and then checked for traffic, if there is no traffic coming, you can continue.
The state of Texas also requires drivers to pull over if an emergency vehicle with flashing lights and sirens is overtaking you. You must also not enter an intersection if the emergency vehicle is approaching it, or in any other way obstruct the emergency vehicle.
School buses with yellow flashing lights mean that you need to slow down to 20 mph or less. If the school bus is flashing red lights, it means that you need to stop and you shouldn’t pass the bus until it continues moving, or if the driver signals you to move, or if the driver turns off the red lights.
Red flashing traffic lights mean you must come to a stop and then assess the road to see if it is clear to drive across the intersection. If the lights are flashing yellow, then you must slow down and drive across the intersection with caution. Intersections with lights that are out of order must be treated as a four-way-stop.
Texas Traffic Law Road Signs
It is important to understand what the different road signs mean when you’re driving. The signs in Texas rely on different colors and shapes to indicate what is ahead.
Warning signs are always yellow and orange. Warning signs are usually either diamonds, pentagons, and/or round in shape. These warning signs are there to indicate unexpected conditions or changes.
Regulatory signs are red, black, and white. They are usually vertical rectangles, octagons, and/or triangles. Regulatory signs are used to display traffic laws.
Guidance signs are green, blue, and brown in color and are horizontal rectangles. Guidance signs are there to provide drivers with helpful information.
If you’re involved in a collision in Texas, you need to check for injuries and tend to anyone hurt. If you can move your car out of the road to a safer spot where you can exchange names and insurance information. Once in a safer place, you may then get all the details for insurance purposes, i.e. names, addresses, insurance details, details about the crash.
You should call the police if there’s an injury or fatality, if the vehicles can’t be moved, if you think a driver is intoxicated, if the driver has no insurance, or if the driver leaves the scene.
Auto accidents can happen to anyone at any time, regardless of how careful you are. To ensure you receive the best legal advice, get in touch with an experienced lawyer that can help take care of everything for you and get the compensation you deserve.
Strange Texas Driving Rules
Alongside some general driving laws in Texas, there are also a few stranger ones that you should be aware of.
If you get out of your car in Denton County (in the Fort Worth area) then you must set your parking brake on your vehicle.
Windshield wipers are essential, even if you don’t have a windshield (which isn’t essential to drive with). Driving without windshield wipers is illegal.
It is illegal to do a U-turn in Richardson. While in Lubbock, it is illegal to drive within an arm’s length of alcohol. This includes any alcohol someone consumed. And in Galveston, it is illegal to drive down Broadway before noon on a Sunday.
Familiarize Yourself With Texas Traffic Laws
It’s always better to be safe than sorry, especially when you’re driving. This is why if you plan to drive in Texas, you must familiarize yourself with all of the Texas traffic laws. Similarly, if you plan to drive in any state other than the one you obtained your license, you should read up on the state’s traffic laws and rules.
Check out some of our other legal blogs if you found this article to be insightful.