Marriage License Laws in Arizona
People often get very caught up in the romantic part of marriage, and they forget about the legal aspect of marriage. When you get married, you are forming a legal union with another person. Because marriage is a legal matter, it is important to be informed about marriage license laws. Each state has different marriage license laws. The purpose of this article is to inform and educate people about the marriage license laws in Arizona. If you plan on getting married in Arizona anytime soon, read this article carefully because the information is very important to you.
Marriage License Laws in Arizona
Everyone knows that the actual wedding itself can be expensive, but not everyone may know that there is a fee to get a marriage license. If you are purchasing a marriage license in Arizona the fee is $83.00. If you are buying the marriage license at a Justice Court, then you can only pay with a money order. If you are purchasing your marriage license anywhere else, then you can pay with cash, debit/credit card, or a money order.
Both people must be at the appointment to get the marriage license. If both people are not there in person, then you cannot get a marriage license and there goes your healthy marriage. Both people must have a valid government issued ID to show proof of identity and age. Both people must also provide their social security number. The marriage license must be issued 30 days before the wedding day ceremony, signed after the ceremony is finished, and then returned no later than 30 days after the ceremony. You have one year to complete the marriage ceremony after you were initially issued your license. Most couples hire a wedding day coordinator to help keep the checklist in order, which includes marriage license and other important things like the wedding DJ, flower arrangements and catering.
Each state has different laws regarding ages that people can get married at. In the state of Arizona, no one can get married under the age of 16. This law is relatively new as it was issued in 2018. If you are 18 or older you are allowed to get married and can be issued a marriage license fairly easily. If you are between 16 and 18 there are a few things that must be done before you can get married. You must have either an official emancipation order or a notarized parental consent form. You must also either have your legal parents or guardians be present or have copies of the front and back of the parent/legal guardian’s ID. You must provide both your birth certificate and a valid government issued ID. In the state of Arizona it is a law that neither party may be more than 3 years older than the other when one of the people is under the age of 18.
If you want to obtain a covenant marriage license, the cost is the same as a regular marriage license. The difference with a covenant marriage license is that you must have a notarized statement from a clergy or counselor that states that both people are aware of the details regarding what a covenant marriage is.
Getting married in Arizona is a simple process, as long as you are prepared and informed about the marriage license laws in Arizona. Be sure to have the proper documentation required, and bring the proper amount to purchase the marriage license with. Don’t forget to turn in your marriage license too, so it can be legally official.